Gateway To Mobile’s History
In 1850 Jonathan Kirkbride and his wife, Elizabeth, built what is now known as the Conde-Charlotte Museum. The property at 104 Theatre Street was the site of Mobile’s first jail built in the 1820s. Kirkbride remodeled the prison, adding the front portico, balcony and columns, adding an extension in the back, and even re-using cell doors in rooms in the rear of the estate. A portion of the jail floor can be seen in the house today.
The Conde-Charlotte Museum is furnished with period antiques reflecting Mobile’s history under five flags: French, English, Spanish, American and Confederate.
The variety and authenticity of the furnishings make the house a charming museum, with two confederate parlors, an American Federal dining room, a British Commandant’s room, a French sitting room and bedroom, and two American bedrooms. A walled Spanish garden of the late 18th century design and a kitchen filled with late 19th and early 20th century equipment complement the house.
The Conde-Charlotte Museum is owned, preserved and operated by the National Society of the Colonial Dames.
$5 Children, 6 – 12 years old
Free for children 5 years old and younger
Group Rates Available
Tue – Sat: 11:00 am – 3:30 pm
2017 Holiday Closure Dates
January 1 – 2
February 25 – 28
July 1 – 4
November 22 – 27
December 19, 2017 – January 1, 2018
For more travel information, contact Visit Mobile 1-251-208-2000 or visit www.Mobile.org